Des articles

4 façons de recycler votre arbre de Noël

4 façons de recycler votre arbre de Noël

Les vrais arbres de Noël sont produits de manière durable dans des fermes en Amérique du Nord et ils sont 100% recyclables. Parce qu'ils sont 100% naturels et biodégradables, il existe de nombreuses façons de recycler votre vrai sapin de Noël une fois la période des fêtes terminée. De nombreuses villes offrent des services de ramassage locaux qui broient ou déchiquetent l'arbre en paillis, compost ou biomasse. Cependant, dans certaines régions d'Amérique du Nord, il existe des programmes spéciaux qui utilisent les arbres de Noël pour avoir d'autres impacts positifs sur l'environnement.

Reconstruire le littoral de la Louisiane

Sailors assigned to Construction Battalion Maintenance Unit 202 and civilians with the Environmental Division at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story, place recycled Christmas trees at "E" Beach at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story. The recycled trees are used to preserve sand dunes and prevent erosion. (Photo by: Seaman Tamekia Perdue) Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license.

Les marins affectés à l'unité de maintenance du bataillon de construction 202 et les civils de la Division de l'environnement à la base expéditionnaire conjointe Little Creek-Fort Story, placent des arbres de Noël recyclés sur la plage "E" de la base expéditionnaire conjointe Little Creek-Fort Story. Les arbres recyclés sont utilisés pour préserver les dunes de sable et prévenir l'érosion. (Photo du matelot Tamekia Perdue)

On estime que l'État de Louisiane perd entre 25 et 35 miles carrés de zones humides côtières par an. Depuis 1986, 1,5 million de sapins de Noël ont été recyclés sur le littoral louisianais de la paroisse de Jefferson. Les arbres sont empilés pour assembler une structure en forme de clôture pour lutter contre l'érosion et l'action lente des vagues. On estime que ce programme de recyclage des arbres a restauré entre 250 et 300 acres de marais. Il y a actuellement environ 8 milles de clôtures pour arbres de Noël dans ce programme.

Restauration des dunes de sable

Ces dernières années, des ouragans dévastateurs sur la côte est ont emporté des dunes de sable protectrices. Pour les villes côtières, les dunes de sable sont souvent la première ligne de défense contre les tempêtes. Les dunes protègent les arrière-cours et les sous-sols de la montée des eaux océaniques. Certaines localités utilisent des arbres de Noël pour aider à restaurer les dunes de sable.

Les arbres de Noël sont disposés horizontalement sur la plage en tas, ce qui oblige le sable à s'accumuler autour d'eux, afin que l'herbe puisse pousser. Au fil du temps, cela restaurera finalement les dunes de sable qui ont été emportées pendant la tempête et les arbres se décomposeront naturellement par biodégradation.

Sanctuaires d'oiseaux

Dans l'Illinois, les hérons et les aigrettes ont été forcés de quitter leur habitat naturel par le développement. En 2000, une colonie artificielle a été construite à Baker's Lake Forest Preserve juste à l'extérieur de Chicago, offrant aux oiseaux indigènes un endroit pour nicher. Environ 300 à 400 arbres de Noël recyclés y sont ajoutés chaque hiver. La colonie est une grande structure verticale sur une petite île au bord du lac. Les arbres de Noël sont suspendus à la colonie pour offrir abri et intimité.

Ramasser

Partout en Amérique du Nord, les Boy Scouts se sont associés à des communautés locales pour organiser des programmes de recyclage d'arbres de Noël. Des programmes comme ceux-ci sont fréquemment utilisés comme collecte de fonds pour aider les sections locales à ramasser votre arbre en échange d'un petit don. Cependant, de nombreuses villes proposent également un ramassage gratuit. Le plus souvent, les arbres ramassés de cette manière sont broyés en copeaux de bois, en biomasse ou transformés en compost.

N'oubliez pas de retirer toutes les décorations, lumières, ornements et guirlandes de l'arbre avant de le donner. Pour des services supplémentaires de ramassage d'arbres aux États-Unis, envisagez d'utiliser cet outil de recherche de recyclage pratique d'Earth911 répertorié au bas de cette page.

Ressources

 

(Photo ci-dessus par Wikimedia, distribuée sous licence CC-BY 2.0)

Fermes d'arbres de Noël

Fermes d'arbres de Noël

Alors que cette saison des fêtes commence, nous sommes ravis de partager certaines pratiques de l'industrie durable de la National Christmas Tree Association (NCTA). Chaque année depuis 1966, la NCTA fournit le véritable sapin de Noël exposé à la White House Blue Room. Les fermes d'arbres de Noël sont durables et les vrais arbres de Noël peuvent être recyclés en plusieurs des mêmes sous-produits du bois que les matériaux d'emballage en bois.

Christmas tree farm in Iowa. Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Ferme d'arbres de Noël dans l'Iowa. Photographie de Wikimedia, distribuée sous licence CC-BY 2.0.

Les arbres de Noël sont récoltés en moyenne 7 à 8 ans après leur plantation et les jeunes arbres séquestrent une grande partie du carbone de l'atmosphère. Chaque année qu'un arbre est récolté dans une ferme d'arbres de Noël, un autre arbre est planté à sa place. Les souches d'arbres sont broyées pour libérer de l'espace pour que de nouveaux arbres s'épanouissent. Les broyages des souches de bois peuvent être utilisés pour faire du paillis de jardin, des allées piétonnes extérieures ou du compost. Les fermes d'arbres de Noël sont incroyablement durables. Très peu de choses se perdent !

Au fil des ans, la NCTA a surveillé de près les performances de l'industrie. Ils estiment qu'il y a en moyenne entre 25 et 30 millions de vrais arbres de Noël vendus aux États-Unis chaque année et qu'il y a environ 310 millions d'arbres de Noël qui poussent actuellement dans près de 13 000 fermes à travers les États-Unis.

Arbres de Noël artificiels ou réels

La plupart des gens choisissent des arbres artificiels simplement parce qu'il n'y a pas d'aiguilles tombées à ramasser. Beaucoup de gens croient également que les arbres artificiels sont plus respectueux de l'environnement que les vrais arbres. Cependant, de nombreux arbres artificiels sont fabriqués avec du plastique PVC et ne sont pas recyclables. En d'autres termes, il n'y a pas d'autre moyen de recycler un sapin de Noël artificiel une fois qu'il a atteint la fin de sa vie. De plus, il existe des pratiques douteuses concernant la production de PVC. Selon un rapport publié par Greenpeace UK, la production de PVC peut émettre des substances cancérigènes telles que la dioxine, le dichlorure d'éthylène et le chlorure de vinyle.

Les vrais arbres de Noël sont neutres en carbone, ils sont sans danger pour une utilisation en intérieur et ils sont recyclables. Le processus de sélection à lui seul est une tradition chérie et séculaire parmi de nombreuses familles. L'achat d'un vrai sapin de Noël est une décision beaucoup plus respectueuse de l'environnement. Les arbres de Noël cultivés à la ferme sont durables.

Choisir le meilleur sapin de Noël

La NCTA encourage tout le monde à acheter tôt pour la meilleure sélection, peu importe où ils vivent. Demandez toujours une nouvelle coupe à la base du tronc de l'arbre avant de le ramener à la maison. Ensuite, une fois rentré chez vous, placez immédiatement le tronc d'arbre dans un seau d'eau, surtout si l'arbre ne doit pas être placé dans son support pendant un certain temps. Pour de meilleurs résultats et un bel arbre de Noël plus durable, gardez toujours l'arbre arrosé tout au long de la saison des vacances.

Ressources

Arbres de Noël à la Maison Blanche

Arbres de Noël à la Maison Blanche

Il y a deux semaines, les États-Unis ont tenu leur 58e élection présidentielle quadriennale et le 20 janvier 2017, le président élu Donald J. Trump sera investi de ses fonctions. Chaque année depuis 93 ans, le président des États-Unis décore la Maison Blanche de deux vrais sapins de Noël. L'un est à l'extérieur pour une exposition publique et le second est traditionnellement hébergé dans la salle bleue de la Maison Blanche.

The White House serves as a backdrop for the National Christmas Tree on the Ellipse in Washington, D.C., Dec. 16, 2009. (Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy) This official White House photograph is being made available only for publication by news organizations and/or for personal use printing by the subject(s) of the photograph. The photograph may not be manipulated in any way and may not be used in commercial or political materials, advertisements, emails, products, promotions that in any way suggests approval or endorsement of the President, the First Family, or the White House.

La Maison Blanche sert de toile de fond à l'arbre de Noël national sur l'Ellipse à Washington, DC, le 16 décembre 2009. (Photo officielle de la Maison Blanche par Chuck Kennedy). Photographie de Wikimedia, distribuée sous licence CC-BY 2.0

Chaque année, la National Park Foundation et le National Park Service présentent l'éclairage national de l'arbre de Noël à l'extérieur de la Maison Blanche. Cette tradition remonte à 1923, lorsque le président Calvin Coolidge a allumé un sapin de 48 pieds décoré de 2 500 lumières rouges, blanches et vertes alors qu'un « quatuor » de l'US Marine Corps Band se produisait. Bien que tous les présidents depuis 1923 n'aient pas allumé un sapin de Noël à la Maison Blanche, de nombreux présidents l'ont fait, dont le président Franklin D. Roosevelt, le président Truman, le président Eisenhower, le président Carter, le président Reagan, le président George W. Bush et le président Obama.

En 1963, le président Lyndon Johnson a retardé l'allumage du sapin de Noël pour respecter les trente jours de deuil suite au décès du président John F. Kennedy le 22 novembre. Cette année-là, l'arbre a été allumé le 22 décembre.

Décorer l'arbre

En 1954, une société appelée Hargrove, Inc., détenue par Earl Hargrove, a commencé à décorer le sapin de Noël national. Cette année-là, il y avait un arbre de 60 pieds de haut et le National Park Service a érigé plusieurs étages de mise en scène pour les aider à le décorer. À l'époque, cependant, les guirlandes lumineuses pour arbres de Noël n'existaient pas. Selon le National Park Service, Hargrove « a installé manuellement des douilles à chaque pied sur plusieurs centaines de pieds de fil et a vissé et testé chaque ampoule. Quand une ampoule devenait capricieuse, Hargrove montait et les réparait dans un costume de Père Noël ! Hargrove, Inc. continue de décorer l'arbre de Noël national à la Maison Blanche.

Allumer l'arbre

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, les enfants ont commencé à aider le président à allumer le sapin de Noël. En 1983, le président Reagan et la première dame Nancy Reagan ont recruté l'aide d'Amy Bentham, sept ans. Les archives du National Park Service montrent qu'« Amy avait écrit au programme 'Make a Wish', disant 'L'arbre de Noël qui illumine notre pays doit être vu jusqu'au paradis. Je souhaiterais tellement aider le président à allumer ces lumières de Noël.' » Depuis lors, plusieurs présidents ont recruté des enfants pour les aider à allumer l'arbre.

Rendre les arbres économes en énergie

2007 a été la première année où la Maison Blanche a allumé l'arbre de Noël national avec des lumières de Noël à LED, rendant l'arbre plus économe en énergie. L'arbre de Noël national 2008 était 50 pour cent plus éconergétique que l'année précédente. En 2015, la Maison Blanche a honoré le centenaire du National Park Service en 2016 avec un arbre de Noël à thème spécial.

Arbre de la chambre bleue

Chaque année depuis 1966, la National Christmas Tree Association (NCTA) a présenté à la Maison Blanche son arbre de Noël officiel à exposer dans la salle bleue. La NCTA organise un concours dans lequel les producteurs, les experts de l'industrie et les consommateurs votent pour choisir le producteur qui fournira un arbre de Noël à la Maison Blanche. L'arbre de Noël de la Maison Blanche 2016, un sapin baumier de 19 pieds de haut, a été sélectionné le 27 septembre par Whispering Tree Farms à Oconto, Wisconsin. C'est considéré comme un très grand honneur d'être choisi pour fournir un arbre de Noël à la Maison Blanche.

Ressources

L'histoire des arbres de Noël en Amérique du Nord

L'histoire des arbres de Noël en Amérique du Nord

Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Photographie de Wikimedia, distribuée sous licence CC-BY 2.0

Les vrais sapins de Noël sont recyclables. Ils sont souvent réutilisés en paillis pour le jardin ou la biomasse peut être convertie en énergie dans les centrales de cogénération. Alors que l'Amérique du Nord se prépare pour la saison des Fêtes, nous voulons prendre un moment pour examiner l'histoire des arbres de Noël en Amérique du Nord.

Au début de l'histoire américaine, les arbres de Noël étaient détestés à des fins religieuses, mais sont maintenant très populaires. Dans cet article, nous expliquerons comment les arbres de Noël sont devenus un incontournable de la tradition de Noël nord-américaine.

Les arbres qui restent verts toute l'année ont historiquement eu une signification particulière pour les gens du monde entier. Les Allemands sont crédités d'avoir commencé la tradition de l'arbre de Noël au 16ème siècle. Cependant, la tradition de l'arbre de Noël n'a été largement adoptée aux États-Unis que bien plus tard. Les puritains de la Nouvelle-Angleterre croyaient que Noël était sacré et célébrer la fête avec des décorations était considéré comme une parodie de la foi. En fait, la Cour générale du Massachusetts a appliqué une loi en 1659 qui imposait une amende aux personnes pour avoir suspendu des décorations le 25 décembre. Cela a continué jusqu'au 19ème siècle, lorsque la popularité des arbres de Noël a explosé.

Popularité croissante

En 1846, la reine Victoria et le prix allemand Albert ont été esquissés dans le London News avec leurs enfants debout autour d'un arbre de Noël. La reine Victoria était très populaire et les choses qu'elle faisait sont souvent devenues très à la mode en Grande-Bretagne et dans la société américaine de la côte est. Au fur et à mesure que l'image se répandait, le nombre de personnes qui voulaient des arbres de Noël a finalement dépassé en nombre les puritains; et la décoration des maisons avec des arbres de Noël est devenue une pratique largement acceptée aux États-Unis.

Décorations d'arbres

Au début du 20e siècle, les gens décoraient principalement leurs arbres avec des ornements faits maison, des pommes, des noix ou des biscuits au massepain. À un moment donné, le pop-corn était teint de couleurs vives et entrelacé de baies et de noix pour les décorations. Ensuite, l'électricité a ouvert la voie aux lumières de Noël.

Explosion d'Halifax en 1917

Lorsque les colons allemands ont émigré au Canada dans les années 1700, ils ont apporté avec eux les traditions de Noël que nous célébrons aujourd'hui, notamment les maisons en pain d'épice, les biscuits, les calendriers de l'Avent et, bien sûr, les arbres de Noël. Lorsque la reine Victoria a rendu les arbres de Noël à la mode, cela s'est rapidement propagé au Canada et ils ont également adopté la tradition.

Le 6 décembre 1917, il y a eu un terrible accident à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Deux navires sont entrés en collision dans le port. L'accident a tué environ 2 000 personnes et détruit près de la moitié de la ville. Les secouristes de Boston ont été les premiers à arriver sur les lieux, malgré un retard de 24 heures en raison d'un blizzard. Ils ont envoyé des fournitures médicales, des médecins et des infirmières en réponse à l'accident.

Le Noël suivant en 1918, la Nouvelle-Écosse a envoyé un arbre de Noël à Boston, au Massachusetts, pour les remercier de leur aide lors de l'accident. La pratique, cependant, a expiré plusieurs années jusqu'à son retour en 1971. Chaque année depuis 1971, la Nouvelle-Écosse a envoyé à Boston un arbre de Noël de sa province. Ils se sont sentis particulièrement liés à la tradition à la lumière de l'attentat du marathon de Boston en 2013. 2016 sera la 45e année consécutive que la Nouvelle-Écosse envoie un arbre de Noël à Boston.

Arbre de Noël du Rockefeller Center

Le premier arbre de Noël du Rockefeller Center a été placé en 1931 par des ouvriers du bâtiment au centre d'un chantier de construction. On disait qu'il était petit et sans décoration. Deux ans plus tard, un autre arbre a été placé au même endroit, sauf cette fois avec des lumières d'arbre de Noël. Entre 1931 et 2016, la seule année où il n'y avait pas d'arbre de Noël au centre Rockefeller était 1932. Historiquement, les arbres ont été donnés et l'espèce prédominante est l'épinette de Norvège. Cependant, au cours des dernières années, les jardiniers ont sélectionné à la main un épicéa de Norvège des États voisins, même du Canada. À ce jour, le tristement célèbre arbre du Rockefeller Center est décoré de plus de 25 000 lumières. Il arrive normalement le jour des anciens combattants.

À l'heure actuelle, il est très courant que les villes nord-américaines de toutes tailles accueillent des cérémonies d'illumination des arbres de Noël. Des événements comme ceux-ci ont tendance à attirer de grandes foules, car les cérémonies d'éclairage des arbres sont devenues culturellement importantes en Amérique du Nord et dans de nombreux pays du monde.

Ressources

© 2021 Nature's Packaging® est enregistré au niveau fédéral auprès du US Copyright Office par la National Wooden Pallet & Container Association. Tous les droits sont réservés.

Posts

4 Ways to Recycle Your Christmas Tree

4 Ways to Recycle Your Christmas Tree

Real Christmas trees are sustainably produced on farms in North America and they are 100% recyclable. Because they are 100% natural and biodegradable, there are many different ways to recycle your real Christmas tree once the holiday season has ended. Many towns offer local pickup services that will grind or chip the tree into mulch, compost, or biomass. However, in some regions of North America, there are special programs that use Christmas trees to have other positive impacts on the environment.

Rebuilding the Louisiana Coastline

Sailors assigned to Construction Battalion Maintenance Unit 202 and civilians with the Environmental Division at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story, place recycled Christmas trees at "E" Beach at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story. The recycled trees are used to preserve sand dunes and prevent erosion. (Photo by: Seaman Tamekia Perdue) Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license.

Sailors assigned to Construction Battalion Maintenance Unit 202 and civilians with the Environmental Division at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story, place recycled Christmas trees at “E” Beach at Joint Expeditionary Base Little Creek-Fort Story. The recycled trees are used to preserve sand dunes and prevent erosion. (Photo by Seaman Tamekia Perdue)

It’s estimated that the state of Louisiana loses between 25 and 35 square miles of coastal wetlands per year. Since 1986, 1.5 million Christmas trees have been recycled on the Louisiana coastline of Jefferson Parish. The trees are stacked to assemble a fence-like structure to combat erosion and slow wave action. This tree recycling program is estimated to have restored between 250 and 300 acres of marshland. There are currently about 8 miles worth of Christmas tree fences in this program.

Sand Dune Restoration

In recent years, devastating hurricanes on the east coast washed away protective sand dunes. For coastal towns, sand dunes are frequently the first line of defense against storms. The dunes protect backyards and basements from rising ocean waters. Some localities are using Christmas trees to help restore the sand dunes.

The Christmas trees are laid horizontally on the beach in piles, which forces sand to accumulate around them, so grass can grow. Over time, this will ultimately restore the sand dunes that were washed away during the storm and the trees will naturally decompose through biodegradation.

Bird Sanctuaries

In Illinois, herons and egrets have been forced from their native habitat by development. In 2000, a manmade rookery was built at Baker’s Lake Forest Preserve just outside of Chicago, offering native birds a place to nest. About 300-400 recycled Christmas trees are added to it each winter. The rookery is a tall, vertical structure on a small island at the lake. The Christmas trees hang from the rookery to provide shelter and privacy.

Pickup

Across North America, the Boy Scouts have partnered with local communities to host Christmas tree recycling programs. Programs like these are frequently used as fundraisers to support local chapters to pick up your tree in exchange for a small donation. However, many cities offer free pickup as well. Most often trees picked up in this manner are grinded into wood chips, biomass, or made into compost.

Remember to remove all decorations, lights, ornaments, and tinsels from the tree before donating it. For additional tree pickup services in the United States, consider using this handy recycling search tool by Earth911 listed at the bottom of this page.

Resources

 

(Above photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license)

Christmas Tree Farms

Christmas Tree Farms

As this holiday season begins we’re exciting to be sharing some sustainable industry practices from the National Christmas Tree Association (NCTA). Each year since 1966, the NCTA has provided the real Christmas tree that is on display at the White House Blue Room. Christmas tree farms are sustainable and real Christmas trees can be recycled into many of the same wood by-products as wood packaging materials.

Christmas tree farm in Iowa. Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Christmas tree farm in Iowa. Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license.

Christmas trees are harvested, on average, 7-8 years after they’re planted and younger trees sequester a great deal of carbon from the atmosphere. Each year that a tree is harvested from a Christmas tree farm, another tree is planted in its place. Tree stumps are grinded to make space available for new trees to flourish. Grindings from wood stumps can be used to make garden mulch, outdoor walkway paths, or compost. Christmas tree farms are incredibly sustainable. Very little goes to waste!

Over the years, the NCTA has kept a close eye on the industry’s performance. They estimate that there are on average, between 25 – 30 million real Christmas trees sold in the United States every year and there are approximately 310 million Christmas trees currently growing on nearly 13,000 farms across the United States.

Artificial v. Real Christmas Trees

Most people choose artificial trees simply because there are no fallen needles to pick up. Many people also believe that artificial trees are more environmentally friendly than real trees. However, many artificial trees are made with PVC plastic and are non-recyclable. In other words, there is no other way to recycle an artificial Christmas tree once it has reached the end of its life. Additionally, there are questionable practices surrounding the production of PVC. According to a report published by Greenpeace UK, the production of PVC can emit carcinogens such as dioxin, ethylene dichloride, and vinyl chloride.

Real Christmas trees are carbon neutral, they’re safe for indoor use, and they’re recyclable. The selection process alone is a cherished and time-honored tradition among many families. Purchasing a real Christmas tree is a much more environmentally responsible decision. Farm-grown Christmas trees are sustainable.

Selecting the Best Christmas Tree

The NCTA encourages everyone to shop early for the best selection no matter where they live. Always request a fresh cut at the base of the tree’s trunk before you bring it home.  Then, once you get home, immediately place the tree trunk in a bucket of water particularly if the tree is not going to be placed in its stand for a while. For best results and a longer lasting beautiful real Christmas tree, always keep the tree watered throughout the holiday season.

Resources

Christmas Trees in the White House

Christmas Trees in the White House

Two weeks ago the United States held its 58th quadrennial presidential election and on January 20th, 2017, president-elect Donald J. Trump will be inaugurated into office. Each year for the past 93 years, the President of the United States has decorated the White House with two real Christmas trees. One is outside for public display and the second is traditionally hosted in the Blue Room within the White House.

The White House serves as a backdrop for the National Christmas Tree on the Ellipse in Washington, D.C., Dec. 16, 2009. (Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy) This official White House photograph is being made available only for publication by news organizations and/or for personal use printing by the subject(s) of the photograph. The photograph may not be manipulated in any way and may not be used in commercial or political materials, advertisements, emails, products, promotions that in any way suggests approval or endorsement of the President, the First Family, or the White House.

The White House serves as a backdrop for the National Christmas Tree on the Ellipse in Washington, D.C., Dec. 16, 2009. (Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy). Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Each year, the National Park Foundation and National Park Service present the National Christmas Tree Lighting outdoors at the White House. This tradition dates back to 1923, when President Calvin Coolidge lit a 48-foot fir tree decorated with 2,500 red, white, and green lights as a “quartet” from the U.S. Marine Corps Band performed. Although not every president since 1923 has lit a Christmas tree at the White House, many presidents have, including President Franklin D. Roosevelt, President Truman, President Eisenhower, President Carter, President Reagan, President George W. Bush, and President Obama.

In 1963, President Lyndon Johnson delayed lighting the Christmas tree to respect the thirty days of mourning following the death of President John F. Kennedy on November 22nd. That year, the tree was lit on December 22nd.

Decorating the Tree

In 1954, a company called Hargrove, Inc., owned by Earl Hargrove, began decorating the National Christmas Tree. That year, there was a 60-foot-tall tree and the National Park Service erected several stories of staging to help them decorate it. At the time, however, stringed Christmas tree lights didn’t exist. According the National Park Service, Hargrove “manually installed sockets every foot on several hundred feet of wire and screwed in and tested every bulb. When a bulb became finicky, Hargrove would climb up and fix them in a Santa costume!” Hargrove, Inc. continues to decorate the National Christmas Tree at the White House.

Lighting the Tree

In the 1970’s and 1980’s, children began to help the President light the Christmas tree. In 1983, President Reagan and First Lady Nancy Reagan recruited the help of seven-year-old Amy Bentham. National Park Service records show that “Amy had written to the ‘Make a Wish’ program, saying ‘The Christmas tree that lights up our country must be seen all the way to heaven. I would wish so much to help the President turn on those Christmas lights.’” Since then, several presidents have recruited children to help them light the tree.

Making Trees Energy Efficient

2007 was the first year the White House lit the National Christmas Tree with LED Christmas lights, making the tree more energy efficient. The 2008 National Christmas Tree was 50 percent more energy efficient than the previous year. In 2015, the White House honored the National Park Service’s Centennial in 2016 with specially themed Christmas Tree.

Blue Room Tree

Every year since 1966, the National Christmas Tree Association (NCTA) has presented the White House with its official Christmas Tree for display in the Blue Room. The NCTA holds a contest in which growers, industry experts, and consumers vote to choose the grower that will provide the White House with a Christmas Tree. The 2016 White House Christmas Tree, a 19-foot tall balsam fir, was selected on September 27th from Whispering Tree Farms in Oconto, Wisconsin. It’s considered a very high honor to be selected to supply the White House with a Christmas Tree.

Resources

The History of Christmas Trees in North America

The History of Christmas Trees in North America

Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Photograph by Wikimedia, distributed under a CC-BY 2.0 license

Real Christmas trees are recyclable. They are often repurposed into mulch for garden use or the biomass can be converted to energy at cogeneration plants. As North America prepares for the holiday season, we want to take a moment to consider the history of Christmas trees in North America.

Early in American history, Christmas trees were abhorred for religious purposes but are now widely popular. In this article, we’ll discuss how Christmas trees evolved into a staple of the North American Christmas tradition.

Trees that remain green all year long have historically held special meaning for people around the world. The Germans are credited with starting the Christmas tree tradition in the 16th century. However, the Christmas tree tradition wasn’t widely adopted in the United States until much later. New England Puritans believed Christmas was sacred and celebrating the holiday with decorations was considered a mockery of faith. In fact, the General Court of Massachusetts enforced a law in 1659 that fined people for hanging decorations on December 25th. This continued until the 19th century, when the popularity of Christmas trees exploded.

Rising Popularity

In 1846, Queen Victoria and German Price Albert were sketched in the London News with their children standing around a Christmas tree. Queen Victoria was very popular and the things she did often became very fashionable in Britain and East Coast American society. As the image spread, eventually the number of people who wanted Christmas trees outnumbered the Puritans; and decorating homes with Christmas trees became a widely accepted practice in the United States.

Tree Decorations

In the early 20th century, people mostly decorated their trees with homemade ornaments, apples, nuts, or marzipan cookies. At one point, popcorn was dyed bright colors and interlaced with berries and nuts for decorations. Then, electricity paved the way for Christmas lights.

1917 Halifax Explosion

When German settlers migrated to Canada in the 1700’s, they brought with them the Christmas traditions we celebrate today, including gingerbread houses, cookies, Advent calendars, and, of course, Christmas trees. When Queen Victoria made Christmas trees fashionable, it quickly spread to Canada as well and they embraced the tradition as well.

On December 6, 1917, there was a terrible accident in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Two ships collided at the harbor. The accident killed about 2,000 people and destroyed nearly half of the city. Boston relief workers were the first to arrive on scene, despite being delayed 24 hours due to a blizzard. They sent medical supplies, doctors, and nurses in response to the accident.

The following Christmas in 1918, Nova Scotia sent a Christmas tree to Boston, Massachusetts thanking them for their aid during the accident. The practice, however, lapsed several years until it returned in 1971. Every year since 1971, Nova Scotia has sent Boston a Christmas tree from their province. They felt especially connected to the tradition in light of the 2013 Boston marathon bombing. 2016 will be the 45th consecutive year that Nova Scotia has sent Boston a Christmas tree.

Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree

The first Rockefeller Center Christmas tree was placed in 1931 by construction workers at the center of a construction site. It was said to be small and undecorated. Two years later, another tree was placed in the same spot, except this time with Christmas tree lights. Between 1931 and 2016, the only year there was not a Christmas tree at Rockefeller center was 1932. Historically, the trees were donated, and the predominant species is Norway Spruce. However, in more recent years garden managers hand-select a Norway Spruce from neighboring states, even Canada. To date, the infamous Rockefeller Center tree is decorated with more than 25,000 lights. It normally arrives on Veterans Day.

At present, it’s very common for North American cities of all sizes to host Christmas tree lighting ceremonies. Events like these tend to draw large crowds as tree lighting ceremonies have become culturally significant in North America and in many countries around the world.

Resources

© 2021 Nature's Packaging® is federally registered with the U.S. Copyright Office by the National Wooden Pallet & Container Association. All rights reserved.